A Review of Jurassic World (2015)

“Monster is a relative term. To a canary, a cat is a monster. We’re just used to being the cat.”

I don’t like monster movies much. Jurassic World made a lot of money though, so I thought I’d check it out.

I came into the film with low expectations, having heard it was another dumbed down, big effects film. To my surprise, and perhaps for that reason, I sort of enjoyed it.

Jurassic World was exciting even though there were plot holes and silly character decisions. The CGI was pretty good and the park itself is a wonderful setting you wish was real.

I found the two children to be rather annoying, especially in the first half of the movie. Chris Pratt doesn’t extend himself in any way in this role, but is fun to watch. Bryce Dallas Howard is an actress I haven’t seen in any film before; I was impressed at the way she tackled her character, an uptight business woman.

I appreciate this films diverse cast, especially the inclusion of an Indian actor (Irrfan Khan) in a leading role. There was no racial jokes or references in the film about his character being Indian- the character could have been played by anyone. This is a positive realistic representation of the world in major media and as such I believe it should be (celebrated is a strong word) credited.

A gripe I had with Jurassic World is in some parts of the movie certain dinosaurs would be far too personified, given they are prehistoric animals. The soundtrack of course takes cues from John Williams’ original Jurassic Park music.

This is a dumb fun big budget film as expected but it is also well directed and acted.

Overall Rating: 7.1/10

A Review of Jurassic World (2015)

Agree? Yes, no, maybe? Tell me!

