Re-watching The Dark Knight Rises

…Or how The Dark Knight Rises Falls and Rises

I watched this film in the cinema and recently re-watched it. Here’s my then-and-now comparisons.

I should also mention The Dark Knight is one of my favourite movies of all time…

SPOILERS FOR THE DARK KNIGHT TRILOGY!

…as such I had high expectations for this film. What really left me with a sour taste in my mouth after first seeing it where the number of plot-holes and the vastness of their size. For a set of films that practically invented the realistic gritty superhero genre, there are far too many nonsensical things in the story. I won’t go into them here, that’s not the point of this article.

The inclusion of characters such as Scarecrow, Ra’s and Talia Al Ghul and the League of Shadows brings an overarching story to the trilogy without ruining TDKR as its own film with its own villain and plot.

Bane himself was nothing as to the comics but still a decent villain. He is nowhere near as good as Ledger’s Joker of course, but Bane’s appearance and quotes are still memorable.

Levitt’s Robin and Hathaway’s Catwoman have just enough screen time to flesh out their characters too, in this 2hour 44min movie. The soundtrack is some of Zimmer’s finest.

The opening scene with the air-to-air heist was shot very well.  The use of IMAX cameras throughout the film was a double edged sword. It looked fantastic when in use, but whenever the film cut to the next scene the change in aspect ratio was jarring. This happened in TDK as well but was less invasive due to better editing.

All in all it wasn’t as bad as the first time I saw it but The Dark Knight Rises probably shouldn’t be #61 on IMDb’s Top 250.

 

 

Re-watching The Dark Knight Rises

3 thoughts on “Re-watching The Dark Knight Rises

  1. Never totally understood the hate this movie gets sometimes. I find it to be the most emotionally driven of the 3. But that’s just my personal taste. Despite certain plot holes, my overall enjoyment is pretty big with this movie because it shines in so many other areas. Good review, keep up the great work and be sure to check out my blog if you get the chance!

    Liked by 1 person

Agree? Yes, no, maybe? Tell me!

