A Career – Skip Woods, A Disgrace to Hollywood

Action movie writer Skip Woods is a disgrace to Hollywood.

This post is not an attack on him as an individual- this is bringing to light the continued atrocities of his work.

In reverse chronological order:

Thursday (1998) – In his debut, Woods writes and directs a crime comedy. I haven’t seen it myself but I am willing to, for its positive reviews.

Swordfish (2001) – A very strong cast almost made me watch this film but what prevented me from doing so was the blatant reliance on IT in the plot- the story might be outdated now. Decent reviews none the less.

It gets worse. Much worse.

Hitman (2007) – A very mediocre action film, the draw being the source material. I’d say it’s borderline serviceable but there’s definitely no real need to watch this movie today.

X-Men Origins: Wolverine (2009) – The movie starts off fairly well but by the 3rd act with deadpool’s mouth sown shut you feel sick. Easily the worst entry in the X-Men franchise.

The A-Team (2010) – Somewhat enjoyable but overall a bit full of itself.Essentially another mediocre film. Absurd action scenes ensue, obviously conceived by Skip Woods.

A Good Die to Hard (2013) – Skip Woods sickens by brutally murdering a beloved franchise. Do not watch this movie. If I were to review it, it’d be in the 4’s maybe even the 3’s.

Who looked at Skip Woods’ track record thus far and decided to give him this?

Sabotage (2014) – Producing and co-writing David Ayer’s Sabotage is an interesting idea as Ayer is usually gritty whilst Skip is wildly illogical. That being said, I like this movie. I’m a huge fan of David Ayer and whilst this isn’t his best work, I did enjoy watching this predictable piece.

Many disagree with me however; it has 19% with critics and 36% with fans on RT, also a 5.3 on IMDb.

Hitman: Agent 47 (2015) – Check out my absolutely scolding review here!

Skip Woods has an abominable CV that I despise far more so than the likes of, say, Michael Bay (who receives a comparably large amount of hate). He has been trusted with the A-Team reboot, a Fox Marvel piece, two video game adaptations and, the beloved, Die Hard.

I hope you have been educated to avoid any further films with his name on, no matter how appealing the material may seem.

Thanks for reading and comment down below!

 

A Career – Skip Woods, A Disgrace to Hollywood

Agree? Yes, no, maybe? Tell me!

