A Review of Predestination (2014)

“The one thing that this job has taught me is that truth is stranger than fiction.”

This is why I began writing*; something really interesting comes out that not enough people are talking about.

And Predestination is very interesting.

Predestination is 2014’s Looper (or Source Code). Both contain time travel, fairly new directors and were under appreciated hits on release.

A cop travels back in time to prevent a terrorist from causing an explosion. The story begins simple enough but as with all time travel adventures…

The first half is very drama focused, dealing with themes of identity and normalism. Ethan Hawke is decent but Sarah Snook entirely steals the show. Her performance and the moral questions posed are the prime reasons to watch this film.

Keen movie goers may pick up on some foreshadowing that I think is overused. The best approach is to go into this movie blind (hence my rather short review).

Like I said in my opening, this is a film that deserves a lot more attention than it received and as such I do my bit by spreading the word. Predestination certainly stays with you after the credits roll.

Overall Rating: 8.0/10

* John Wick was the initial impetus

A Review of Predestination (2014)

Agree? Yes, no, maybe? Tell me!

