A Review of Rogue One (2016)

“I am one with the Force, and the Force is with me.”

Rogue One is my most anticipated movie of the year. It did not fail me.

At the time of writing, it is #193 on IMDb’s all time top 250 movies.

The imperial protocol droid K-2SO and Donnie Yen’s character Chirrut Îmwe were the stand outs in a great cast playing characters that you can root for.

 

The cinematography is beautiful, some of the best in recent memory.

Rogue One is like no other Star Wars film; it has a slight shaky cam and World War 2 feel overall. It is still however Star Wars, retaining what we love of the franchise. There are nods to other characters and events from the TV shows and the original trilogy.

 

ILM always push CGI to new frontiers and they have excelled yet again here.

Themes of hope are hugely emphasised but there is a subtle unspoken underlying theme too that can be perceived. (I decided to omit it for very vaguely spoilery reasons)

A disappointment is the lack of classic Star Wars musical themes herein.

The final few minutes of Rogue One are now some of my favourite moments in the entire mythos of Star Wars.

Overall Rating: 9.5/10 

A Review of Rogue One (2016)

4 thoughts on “A Review of Rogue One (2016)

  1. I’m absolutely going to see this, but Disney needs to hire traditional poster artists again. The recent imagery used to sell this looks so… dull! I’m old, so I really miss the days of more fantasy-like posters or even stylized realism used for episodes 4-6. other than one design, the stuff I’ve seen looks like travel brochures gone wild. That will very likely be my only complaint with the film. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Great post!
      1) i love the classic art posters too, they’re so epic and beautiful, i hear john williams when i see them!
      2) rogue one has gorgeous cinematography and it shows in the posters, the colour and composition
      3) rogue one puposefully lacks some star wars tropes (i wont say what in case some deem as spoilers) Disney wanted this to feel very different to every other star wars so far and it definitely does

      Thanks for the great comment and do come back when you’ve seen it 🙂

      Like

Agree? Yes, no, maybe? Tell me!